The Bolt Soundtrack is Not Nearly as Entertaining as Beverly Hills Chihuahua


Maybe it’s a case of vampire bites dog, but Bolt was fairly lifeless in its opening weekend, particularly given the buzz and some truly hilarious teasers featuring Rhino the hamster busting out some fancy HSM3-inspired dance movies. Okay, most people would say $26 million is alive and kicking, but I would have expected more. I guess $8 child matinee tickets don’t go as far as they used to.

To put it in comparison, nearly 5,000 read my post about Twilight in the first weekend, but no one has asked why it took me so long to write about Bolt.

Maybe it will show strong through the Thanksgiving holiday and be reborn undead. After all, Twilight opened so huge that it sucked the life out of the rest of the box office in comparison.

As for the soundtrack to Bolt, the music is pretty light – and not surprisingly – fairly canine. Jenny Lewis contributes “Barking at the Moon.” Motorhead’s classic
“Dog-Face Boy” also rears its head. The song most likely to get attention is “I Thought I Lost You” by Miley Cyrus, who voices the role of Penny in the movie. I would have thought the studio would do more with the musical stylings of Miley, if for no other reason to drive more attention to the movie.

Maybe I am being too tough on Bolt. I was just so pleasantly surprised by the music in Beverly Hills Chihuahua, a movie that I really did not expect much at all from, that I expected more from Bolt: a movie that I really was expecting great things from. I am looking forward to catching Bolt in 3D though. Will have to make a special trip for that one.

In the meantime, here’s the video for I Thought I Lost You:

~ by montelutz on November 25, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Bolt Soundtrack is Not Nearly as Entertaining as Beverly Hills Chihuahua”

  1. I saw the Bolt movie, and I fell in love with the Barking at the Moon song.
    It was hard to figure out that the song was called… People are only talking about the Mylie Cyrus/Travolta song. But I think this song by Jenny Lewis is the best one in the movie! I love these lyrics! “There is no home like the one you’ve got, cause that home belongs to you”

  2. Do you tweet and have a twitter account so I can follow you?

Leave a Reply

 
