American Idol’s Tribute to Movie Music


Tonight’s episode of American Idol was dedicated to movie music. Quentin Tarantino was the special guest guide. He has brilliant taste in movie music – almost all of his soundtracks are spectacular. So I definitely agree with the choice of asking him to be a guide this week. I just wish he could have helped the contestants pick their songs.

Overall, the night was just alright. I never thought I was much of a movie snob or a music snob, but maybe, just maybe, I am a bit of a movie music snob. There are so many brilliant songs to choose from. How could the producers allow one cheesy ballad after the next?

There’s only one contestant that chose what i would consider a brilliant, must have, and must listen to over and over again movie song. That was Kris, who sang Falling Slowly from the movie Once. Hands down, one of the best movie songs of all time. He couldn’t quite bring the utter and complete that Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova do in the original, but it was definitely a respectable version, particularly the middle of the song.

Alison is probably my favorite contestant. She sang a great song: I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing by Aerosmith, from the movie Armageddon. Dig her and the song, but it was not my favorite performance of hers. The rehearsal with Tarantino was better than the live performance.

Anoop sang (Everything I Do) I Do It For You by Bryan Adams from Robin Hood Prince of Thieves. The boy can actually sing but come on, could you choose or a more blatant movie song. I’ll pass. This was number one for like a year and a half. I have heard it too many times to want to listen to it again.

Not to be out Bryan Adams’ed or out cheesed, Matt sang Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman from the movie Don Juan Demarco. I just can’t do it. Decent version of the song, but I could not get into it. Maybe if he had worn a zoro mask like in the video.

But we’re not done yet. Danny busted out Endless Love by Lionel Richie (and Diana Ross) from the movie of the same name. It reminded me of cinnamon oatmeal – not bad but kind of bland. He needn’t the duet to make it real. The harp wasn’t person enough. Wouldn’t buy it, wouldn’t rewind it, maybe would ffwd it. The video is worth seeing though. Brooke Shields was gorgeous in this movie.

If I were a betting man, I would have put a hefty sum on Lil Rounds singing the entire soundtrack to the Bodyguard. Fortunately, she did not. Unfortunately, she ruined the Bette Midler classic (yes, I said classic) The Rose, from the 1974 film The Rose.

What you could expect was that Adam was going to try something weird. He took Born to Be Wild (Steppenwolf’s classic from Easy Rider) and made it tamer in a frenetic crazy over the top indulgent sort of way. Last week’s Mad World was brilliant, but I am over the shrill. Hate mail press send now.

Personally, I prefer the Dana Carvey version from Opportunity Knocks:

~ by montelutz on April 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
