Daybreakers Preview Features Running Up That Hill by Placebo


I had not heard anything about the movie Daybreakers until I saw the preview for the movie before Gamer. It started off a bit slow for me, but then Placebo’s version of “Running Up That Hill” kicked in. All of sudden, I am counting down the days until the movie comes out (January 8, 2010). I probably would have seen it anyway. After all, apocalyptic vampire movies are dead center on my popcorn movie list. But now, I really want to see it.

The line they use in the clip is perfect: “If I only could make a deal with God and get him to swap our places.” All redemption and rebirth – vampire saves the humans that he had literally been living off of. Perfect.

Update: the song is also used in the series premiere of The Vampire Diaries. There must be something about the line and vampires. Looks like I’ll be watching the series too.

But back to the movie…Sure, the song is probably not going to be featured in the movie. But it doesn’t have to be. It has done it’s job. Now I cannot miss it. Whoever cut the trailer deserves a cut of my ticket. It’s like Marilyn Manson’s “If I Was Your Vampire” in the trailer for Max Payne. I think the trailer was actually better than the movie itself – and all because of the song.

The original Kate Bush version of “Running Up That Hill” was first used in the 80s movie Chocolate War. A good flick, made better by Peter Gabriel and Kate Bush. I hope the same can be said for Daybreakers.

~ by montelutz on September 8, 2009.

8 Responses to “Daybreakers Preview Features Running Up That Hill by Placebo”

  1. I can’t agree more.

  2. Daybreakers is something. The trailer looks promising, thanks to you for presenting such a good package here. I was just bumping into Placebo’s rendition when I came across you site. Such a pleasing find.

  3. DUDES THIS IS FINALLY GOING TO LAUNCH PLACEBO IN THE STATES~~ THEY ARE BRILLIANT…TOO BAD THEY CANCEL DENVER’S CONCERT..CAUGHT THEM ON A YOU TUBE TRAILER OF LITTLE ASHES W/R PATZ, STEPHENIE MEYERS PLEASEPLEASEPLEASE PUT THEM ON ECLIPSE’S SOUNDTRACK!!LOLOLXXXXXXXLOLOL

    • If Stephie has any sense she will lol I know she wnts the Twilight saga movies to be sucessful and it has nothing to do with money…this info has come from an interview for a school paper thing I had to do when she was in England for a little while it was a once in a lifetime chance and amazing there’s plenty more tht I could fill you in on if u need any help

  4. […] Daybreakers Soundtrack Is unDead on Arrival Back in September when the previews for Daybreakers first started airing, a lot of people were asking about the song in the Daybreakers preview. It was “Running Up that Hill” by Placebo, a cover of Kate Bush’s early 80s song, which was originally featured in the movie The Chocolate War. (I wrote about both of them in a post at the time) […]

  5. […] Daybreakers Soundtrack Is (un)Dead on Arrival Back in September when the previews for Daybreakers first started airing, a lot of people were asking about the song in the Daybreakers preview. It was “Running Up that Hill” by Placebo, a cover of Kate Bush’s early 80s song, which was originally featured in the movie The Chocolate War. (I wrote about both of them in a post at the time) […]

  6. Daybreakers is pretty good after seeing it myself I thoroughly enjoyed it even if it was slightly over gory and some of my mates had to run out of the cinema feeling sick LOL!!! I loved it it was amazing and now I hve the song from the trailer on my phone: Running up that hill- Placebo
    I found the storyline incredibly gripping and included some interesting vampire theories xxxxx

  7. Good work, your articles are very interesting, i am glad that i googled your blog

Leave a Reply

 
