Avatar is Even Better Than the Hype – Everything But the Leona Lewis Song


I usually don’t write about movies unless I focus on the music from them. So let me get that out of the way before getting to the good stuff. There’s one song in Avatar: “I See You” by Leona Lewis. I usually like her stuff, but this one seems to miss the mark a bit. Maybe that’s why they relegated it to the end credits.

The song is the least impressive part of the movie. Everything else is brilliant, including James Horner’s score, which was a bit derivative of his previous, but I like those, so it works. It’s almost tribal in some places, which is the most earthly element of the movie.

The rest of the movie is unlike anything else I have ever seen. I think this is James Cameron’s best movie ever. In fact, I will see it a couple more times, but may decide it’s one of the best movies I have seen in years. Not THE best, but among them. Cameron actually gets you to have real empathy for 10 foot tall aliens.

There are some people who thought the Nav-i didn’t look real in the previews. See the movie and be amazed. There are also those who thought it would be more Aliens or too Titanic. Don’t worry. See the movie. The balance is remarkable.

The movie manages to send a message without shoving it down your throat, something that the folks from An Inconvenient Truth and Wall-E could learn from. Watch as the touch a foot or a hand connects the Nav-i to Pandora. Even the lightest touch lights the space around them. Bioluminescence.  Subtle, brilliant, true.

Some may think I am writing too far, gushing too much. Maybe I was just in a mighty good mood when I saw the movie? I don’t think that’s it. Maybe it was the ridiculousness of the 3D Imax sound and screen? Certainly didn’t hurt, but I don’t think so. I think Avatar is just an amazing movie – minus Leona – a near perfect movie.

Enjoy it. And if you find yourself in LA and need someone to see it with, ping me, and I will gladly see it again.

~ by montelutz on December 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
