RIP Corey Haim: A Lost Boys Tribute


So Corey Haim won’t be remembered as the best actor of our time, but he was in some damn good movies. My favorite was Lost Boys, of which he certainly was one. The Frog Brothers were my favorite incarnation of the two Coreys by a longshot.

I know people are all mad for Twilight, but I still think Lost Boys is my favorite vampire movie of all time. Jason Patric, Kiefer Sutherland, Jami Gertz and Bill from Bill & Ted’s. Just flat out good stuff. Even grandpa kicked some serious ass. My favorite line: “One thing about living in Santa Carla I never could stomach, all the damn vampires.” He knew it all along.

The music for Lost Boys was also excellent. Run DMC and Aerosmith, two songs from INXS, Roger Daltry, Clarence Henry and the Echo and the Bunnymen’s cover of People Are Strange. These are some seriously good tunes. Plus the theme to Lost Boys, Cry Little Sister, is awesome, even with the ridiculous sax solo from the steroid symphony.

Here are videos for a couple of the songs. You can find all 14 songs from the movie at the Lost Boys page on Reelsoundtrack.com.

Live version of Good Times (a Meatloaf cover)

Remix of Cry Little Sister:

Echo and the Bunnymen cover of People are Strange:

In all seriousness, addiction has proven once again to be harder to beat than a troop of deranged, teenage vampires. The demons on Hollywood Blvd. seem to be all too real, even more so than those on Hollywood’s big screen. My heart goes out to his mom, whose world was forever broken today when she found her son. It doesn’t matter whether he was 3 years or 38 years old, as a dad, I cannot imagine the horror of it all.

~ by montelutz on March 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “RIP Corey Haim: A Lost Boys Tribute”

  1. Corey Haim I love you and miss you so bnd it hurts ! RIP!

  2. sorry I misspelled bad

  3. Corey Haim I love you and miss you so bnd it hurts ! RIP

Leave a Reply

 
