Clash of the Titans Soundtrack is Slightly Less Forgettable than the Movie


I loved the original Clash of the Titans. It was super cheesy and the effects were sub-par, maybe even for the time. But the movie had spirit. I liked the owl (and disliked the awkward, token reference to the owl in the remake). I also liked the claymation in the original – maybe it was so bad it was good – you had to focus on the story. The Kraken may have looked like a giant version of the swamp thing, but it was a total badass without having to be the size of a city.

Don’t get me wrong, the remake is visually stunning, but while I was watching it I kept thinking that something was missing from it. I don’t know if it was heart, or context or more sensible transitions, but I just could not get into it. Maybe that’s why they tried 3D – because they thought it would be easier to get into the story if you thought you were inside the movie. Evidently, neither worked. Thankfully, somebody tipped me off that the 3D was retrofitted, so it was actually better to watch the movie in good ole fashion 2D.

Overall, the movie just seemed a bit forced. For example, while the two random hunters that join the adventure may bring some much needed levity, how they volunteer and why they are allowed to join is so forced that it just makes their over-formulaic role that much more false.

Not surprisingly, there wasn’t a lot of song music in Clash of the Titans besides the score from Ramin Djawadi. There was only one other song in the movie – Io’s Theme by Craig Armstrong. The soundtrack album for Clash of the Titans features the former but not the latter. Not that I could tell you what Io’s Theme was. It’s an admirable enough score – brimming with action – but one that I forgot as soon as I left the theater, which is pretty much the case for the rest of the movie as well.

Update: I was on a flight back from DC to LA tonight and I happened to notice that Harry Hamlin, who was the star in the original Clash of the Titans, was on the flight. Virgin America has this handy seat-to-seat IM program, so I pinged him just to say how much better the original was than the remake. A very funny conversation ensued.

See, you get to choose the name that you go by in the chat, so I chose “bubo,” the name of the owl from the original, which I thought was a great part of the film. Turns out, bubo is not that flattering of a word. It means the bleeding pustule that results in the final stages of the bubonic plague. He gave me some of the history of why the movie makers chose the name and the discussion about it on set. Funny stuff.

Bottom line – I like the original even more now – because Harry is a quality guy who humored a good-ole movie fan. Cheers – to Harry Hamlin – the once and future Perseus.

~ by montelutz on April 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
