Bird York: Please Stay Far, Far Away from the Soundtrack to My Life


When it comes to the soundtrack to my life, I’m hoping I don’t hear Bird York anytime soon. In fact, I would be perfectly content if she never made the playlist.

Now don’t get me wrong, I think she is absolutely amazing. Her songs are hauntingly beautiful. But they also seem to channel a depth of pain that I would not wish on anyone, and which I hope not to experience again for a long, long time.

However, if you are producing a movie, and you need to find a song that walks the fine line between soul twisting and gut wrenching, then Bird York is your girl. Seven Pounds and Crash are the affidavit to this truth. And the music from House, CSI, Everwood and many more TV shows bear this truth out. I guess, sometimes, I just can’t handle the truth.

My sister Jami and I were watching Seven Pounds this weekend and I mentioned how I thought “Have No Fear” was what I would call a “perfect song, perfect scene.” I could not imagine any other song, or even the sounds of silence, filling the spaces of the climactic scenes of that movie. Have No Fear is one of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard. But forevermore, when I hear it, I cannot help but feel the ice cold water rush around me and twist away from the sting of the scene from Seven Pounds.

To a lesser, but still brilliant extent, “In the Deep,” the song from Crash for which Bird York received an Oscar nomination for, also falls into this category. To be frank, I had completely forgotten about the song. Thank you Jami for bringing it back to life for me. It is an amazing song. My only reservation about whether to call it a perfect song, perfect scene is the thought that it would have fit better during the fiery rescue from the car crash instead of where it was.

Here’s the music video for the song:

And the scene from the movie. (I could only find it dubbed in Spanish. Which to be honest takes away some of the emotional impact, because I can’t look Luda straight in the face when I hear the dubbed Spanish coming out of his mouth):

What do you think? Should it have been here instead? Starting at 1:30.

~ by montelutz on April 13, 2010.

One Response to “Bird York: Please Stay Far, Far Away from the Soundtrack to My Life”

  1. Great, what a blog!! Brilliant! And the sadness of “have no fear” is, that the song is only 2 min short; so then, my pod loops; fearless regards, Mike

Leave a Reply

 
