I Can’t Get the Music from the Inception Soundtrack Out of My Head


The eerie commercials for Inception, with the haunting horns blasting their way into your mind, had a strange way of luring me into the movie. Hans Zimmer does a brilliant job of capturing the unsettled and unsettling world of the movie through the score for Inception. The soundtrack to Inception only contains the score, not the two other songs from the movie.

Even though there are only two songs in Inception, one of them plays a pivotal role throughout – “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien” by Edith Piaf. You’ll have to see the movie to understand that comment because I am not here to spoil anything for anyone. “Non, Je Ne Regrette Rien” plays on a half dozen occasions throughout the movie. I could swear that I could still here it as if it were piped down from the sky even as I was driving home. But that may have been because it was three o’clock in the morning and I was deliriously tired.

The only other song that plays in the film is “Aboun Salehoun” by Amira Saqati. It plays when they are getting in the cab at the beginning of the inception job.

I was a fan of Memento, but I thought Inception was even better. I will certainly be seeing it at least one more time in the theater. It left my head spinning in the best of ways. I’ve had Christopher Nolan’s first film, Following, on my Netflix instant queue for a while. I’m moving it to the top.

Here’s the complete list of songs from Inception in the order they appeared in the movie, although truthfully, the first one should be listed a lot more than once. You can click on the links to download the songs.

~ by montelutz on July 17, 2010.

9 Responses to “I Can’t Get the Music from the Inception Soundtrack Out of My Head”

  1. Do you know which song is playing at the very very end?

  2. The song at the end is “time”

  3. Best movie with awesome sounds!

  4. there was another song playing at the very beginning of the movie that isn’t listed here….part of the lyrics were: pleased to meet you….

    i wrote it down but can’t seem to find anything about it. do you know what it was???

  5. Agreed, I’ve been listening to the score over and over between my multiple theater visits to see the film again. I can’t get any of it out of my head. So, you’re not alone in your enthusiasm for the film

  6. Ah, I meant to ask this – does the song in the cab hold any significance in your opinion?

  7. hans zimmer always done awesome music (i love u zimmer)

  8. More info on the score for ‘Inception’ including the chords used in ‘Time’:
    http://musicatthemovies.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/inception-2010-hans-zimmer/

Leave a Reply

 
