All 17 Songs from the Horrible Bosses Soundtrack


The soundtrack for Horrible Bosses is anything but horrible. It includes songs from Spoon, Beastie Boys, Ting Tings, Money Mark and Dirty Heads. The soundtrack album is another thing entirely – it only includes one of the songs from the movie. The rest is just the Horrible Bosses score by Christopher Lennertz. Not to worry, we’ve pulled together all 17 songs from the movie together here.

My favorite music moment in Horrible Bosses was the use of Sabotage when Nick was thinking about throwing Harken out the window.

The most hilarious music moment was when Dale was singing That’s Not My Name in the car outside Harken’s house. I also liked the use of Spoon’s Underdog at both the beginning of the movie and during the end credits. Lay Me Down by the Dirty Heads was only playing in the background during the bar scene when the guys were talking about killing their bosses, but hearing it reminded me how good the song is.

In order to figure out the songs in each scene in any movie, including Horrible Bosses, I have to take pen and paper into the theater. I get more than a few strange looks when I do, but you gotta do what you gotta do. Tonight, I forgot a notepad and my pen wouldn’t work, so I had to try to remember the scenes that the songs played in after getting back home. My brain mushed the scenes a bit. I have all the songs from Horrible Bosses, and they are in the right order, but there are a couple gaps in the scenes.

The movie itself is hysterical – across the board. Jason Bateman and Jason Sudeikis are hilarious. And Jennifer Aniston was completely unexpected in how funny she was. Her character is so far from usual that everything she says is that much funnier than if someone else was delivering the line. It was so funny, in fact, that I think I might just have to go back and see it again. This time I’ll bring a pen that works. With the song list already in hand, I should be able to fill out the rest of the list.

  • Opening scene through the first couple minutesThe Underdog – Spoon
  • Nick, Dale and Kurt at the barCrazy – Booker T. Jones
  • (unknown scene)Learn to Lose – Hockey
  • Nick thinks about throwing Harken out the windowSabotage – Beastie Boys
  • (unknown scene)Sydney (I’ll Come Running) – Brett Dennen
  • In the bar talking about killing their bossesLay Me Down – Dirty Heads
  • Bar in the crappy neighborhood looking for a killer – Beatin’ Down the Block – B.A.S.K.O.
  • (unknown scene)How You Like Me Now – The Heavy
  • (unknown scene)The Message – Cymande
  • (unknown scene) – Koo Koo Rocks – With the Quickness
  • Pettit’s cell phone ring, under the bed in Harken’s houseKung Fu Fighting – Carl Douglas
  • Dale singing in the car on the lookout for HarkenThat’s Not My Name – The Ting Tings
  • (unknown scene)Perfect Day – The Constellations
  • Meet at the bar after Pettit is shotMoneygrabber – Fitz and the Tantrums
  • Go back to Motherfucker Jones – I Be Doin’ It – Classic
  • (unknown scene)Rhythm of the Night – DeBarge
  • End creditsThis is How I Roll – Money Mark
  • Second end credits – The Underdog – Spoon

Original music for Horrible Bosses – Christopher Lennertz

Here’s the best song from the movie – it’s Spoon performing The Underdog:

The Dirty Heads remind me of summer:

Brett Dennen hold his own:

~ by montelutz on July 11, 2011.

5 Responses to “All 17 Songs from the Horrible Bosses Soundtrack”

  1. GREAT job!!! Yes, the scene with Charlie singing to the Ting Tings is classic!

  2. Thanks for sharing a bit of how you get such scene specific lists by taking pen and paper into the theater. I was always wondering if you took a lighted pen or whispered into an audio recorder or if you ended up with a scrawl of notes. Thanks for your diligence.

    • No lighted pen – though I wish I could. I think the people around me would hate me just a little. As it is, I get a few strange looks, even in LA. It would make my chicken scratch much more readible if I could lighten things up a bit. I’ve even resorted to having to scrawl on a ripped up and flipped inside out box of Milk Duds when I forgot my notebook once or twice.

  3. Love that “How You Like Me Now” is getting a lot of exposure in movies these days.

  4. do you know if any of these are new releases? like made in 2010-2011?

Leave a comment