All 19 Songs from the 50/50 Soundtrack


There’s nothing 50/50 about the soundtrack to the movie 50/50, except for the studio not releasing an album. It’s a collection of 19 great songs that suit the movie well and help tell it’s story. From both the sound and intonation of Radiohead’s “High and Dry” when Adam finds out he has cancer, to the resolution told through the sounds of Pearl Jam’s “Yellow Ledbetter,” the music is in 50/50 tells the story of Adam and his life. The story is based on the real life struggles of Seth Rogen’s best friend – and you could hear the soundtrack to his days in the songs chosen to bring that fact into fiction.

Using Roy Orbison’s “Crying” to tell the tale of a crazy ex-girlfriend who you aren’t crying at all for anymore was perfect. As was throwing the Bee Gees into the pot-laden macaroons that got Adam through chemo. If I ever choose to shave my head, I think I will have to dial up a reggae tune as well. The irony of celebrating shaving your locks to a genre more popularly known for celebrating them (and imbuing them), is too much to pass on.

There were a number of new songs and artists that the 50/50 soundtrack introduced me too as well. I’ll be looking for more from Mr. Little Jeans and Liars Inc. from here on out. [Any recommendations on where to start?]

As for the movie itself, I really enjoyed it. It’s kind of hard to say you enjoy a movie about cancer, but this was a good one. Seth Rogen showed that he could un-Seth – a bit – and Anna Kendrick continued to steal the show for every movie she’s in. I even loved seeing good ole Max Headroom / Matt Frewer in there – and felt for him too.

Here’s the complete list of songs from 50/50, including notes on the scenes they were in. They

Original music for 50/50 – Michael Giacchino

Here are a couple more of the videos from the 50/50 soundtrack songs, starting with the Jacuzzi Boys:

Roy Orbison’s classic “Crying” live from the Roy Orbison show:

Last but not least, Liars Inc:

~ by montelutz on October 16, 2011.

6 Responses to “All 19 Songs from the 50/50 Soundtrack”

  1. It is such an excellant sound track-it chaps my chicken that a person can’t buy it! What is up with that!!!!

  2. Thanks so much for listing the songs!
    The soundtrack’s been on my mind for a while now.

  3. Thanks for this great write-up. I thought this soundtrack was killer, but can’t find it on i-tunes. Is that because you say it wasn’t released?

  4. I LUV HANNAH SHE IS THE BEST OF BOTH WORDS

  5. seriously disappointed that the soundtrack isn’t being released. it was on my x’mas shop list for at least two of my friends, one of whom i saw the movie with, and we commented, “what a great mix!” oh well, no accounting for marketing decisions.

  6. Soundtrack of the year I believe.

Leave a comment