It Took Me 127 Days to Post the 127 Hours Soundtrack, But It’s Stuck in the Queue No More


It took me slightly more than 127 days to post the 127 Hours soundtrack, but at last it’s here. I saw the movie quite some time ago and even wrote down all of the songs from the movie, but it took the performance of “If I Rise” by A.R. Rahman and Florence Welch at the Oscars to stir me from my slumber and post at last. Strange, because the original song isn’t performed by Florence or her machines; it’s actually Dido. They didn’t win the award either – Randy Newman took home his second Academy Award, after 20 nominations.

“If I Rise” is one of 11 songs in the 127 Hours. Like “Jai Ho,” the A.R. Rahman song from Slumdog Millionaire, it certainly sets the tone of the film. It is triumphant and heartbreaking at the same time. The rest of the soundtrack consists of an interesting mix of Scooby Doo, surf music, classical songs and 70s anthems, not to mention the incomparable (or is that incomprehensible) but amazing Sigur Ros.

I really like the movie too. James Franco did an amazing job of keeping you interested and engaged, even in in the confines of a canyon. I much preferred the canyon to the Cast Away. I also was very happy that I saw 127 Hours on a 7 inch back-of-the-airplane-seat movie screen. Thankfully, not everything is shot in 3D. The tendon scene had me ripping at my own arm, and not in a good way. Damn that was rough.

Hope the wait for the soundtrack from 127 Hours hasn’t been too rough on you. Here’s the complete list of songs from 127 Hours in the order they appeared in movie and with notes on the scenes they were in. The soundtrack album to 127 Hours has a good number of the songs, but you can find the whole kaboodle here.

Here’s If You Love Me, but I could only find the Donna Loren version to embed:

And Bill Withers at his best with Lovely Day:

 

But the song that is having the most fun must be this flashback to Plastic Bertrand:

~ by montelutz on February 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “It Took Me 127 Days to Post the 127 Hours Soundtrack, But It’s Stuck in the Queue No More”

  1. hey man! i love all the uploads, but would upload the whole soundtrack if “It’s Kind of a Funny Story” ?…or the music that plays during the brain map drawing scene? please?!

  2. Hello.
    I’ve followed your blog for a long time and always enjoy it.
    Glad to see the 127 Hours sdtrk listing, as its a great one. But I was also commenting because I wanted to suggest a movie for you to feature and couldn’t find any other means to contact you. The movie I have in mind is The Romantics. I myself have discovered a few of the songs, but all of the music in the movie is great and its really hard to track down what everything is. Maybe you’ll have better luck and discover some good stuff in the process! ;D
    ~f

Leave a comment